2018 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Finalists

The Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award is “presented by The Assembly on Literature for Adolescents of the National Council of Teachers of English (ALAN), is an annual award in the United States for a book that exemplifies literary excellence, widespread appeal, and a positive approach to life in young adult literature. It is named for Amelia Elizabeth Walden who died in Westport, Connecticut in 2002 and was a pioneer in the field of Young Adult Literature. “

2018 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Finalists Announced

ALAN sent out the following press release announcing this year’s nominees:

The Assembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) of the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) is pleased and proud to announce the finalists for the 2018 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction. Established in 2008 to honor the wishes of young adult author Amelia Elizabeth Walden, the award allows for the sum of $5,000 to be presented annually to the author of a young adult title selected by the ALAN Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award Committee as demonstrating a positive approach to life, widespread teen appeal, and literary merit.

The 2018 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award finalists are:


Dear Martin by Nic Stone
(Penguin Random House/ Crown Books for Young Readers)


The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
(HarperCollins/ Balzar + Bray)


Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds
(Simon & Schuster/ Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books)


The Nowhere Girls by Amy Reed
(Simon & Schuster/ Simon Pulse)


An Uninterrupted View of the Sky by Melanie Crowder
(Penguin Random House/ Philomel Books)

The winner will be announced on Monday, July 30th. The winning title and finalists will be honored at the 2018 ALAN Workshop on Monday, November 19th in Houston, TX, and the authors will be invited to participate in a panel discussion.

The 2018 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Committee would like to thank: the Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Foundation, the ALAN Executive Council, the ALAN Board of Directors, NCTE, and the many publishers who submitted titles for consideration.

The 2018 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Committee considered over 350 young adult titles throughout the process. The committee was comprised of eleven members representing the university, K-12 school, and library communities. They are:

Beth Scanlon, Committee Chair
Teacher, Cypress Creek High School, Orlando, FL

Lisa Scherff, Past Committee Chair
Teacher, South Ft. Myers High School, Ft. Myers, FL

Sheila Benson
Associate Professor, English Education, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, IA

Robert Bittner
SSHRC Postdoctoral Research Fellow, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC

Marie LeJeune
Professor, Literacy Education, Western Oregon University, Monmouth, OR

Lisa Morris-Wilkey
Librarian, Casa Grande Elementary School District, Casa Grande, AZ

Sarah Mulhern Gross
Teacher, High Technology High School, Lincroft, NJ

Kerry Neuberger
Teacher, Garner-Hayfield-Ventura High School, Garner, IA

Jennifer Paulsen
Teacher, Holmes Junior High, Cedar Falls, IA

Beth Shaum, Librarian
St. Frances Cabrini Catholic School, Allen Park, MI

Wendy Stephens, School Library Media Specialist
Jacksonville State University, Jacksonville AL

Previous award winners have included All American Boys, Eleanor & Park, and The Fault in Our Stars. Good luck and congratulations to all the nominees!

jane signature