The Cover Wars

A standout middle grade debut with a sassy, memorable heroine and a charming Southern feel, perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Natalie Lloyd. Twelve-year-old haunt huntress apprentice Evangeline Clement spends her days and nights studying the ways of folk magic, honing her monster-hunting skills while pursuing local bayou banshees …

Review: The Lightning Dreamer: Cuba’s Greatest Abolitionist by Margarita Engle

Hardcover, 182 pages Published March 19th 2013 by HMH Books for Young Readers Source: Publisher “I envy the trees that grow at crossroads. They are never forced to decide which way to go…” I reviewed another book by Margarita Engle this year, The Poet Slave, which, too, discussed slavery in …

Center for the Study of Multicultural Children’s Literature: BEST MULTICULTURAL BOOKS OF 2015

Compiled by Dr. Claudette Shackelford McLinn, Lessa Kanani’opua Pelayo-Lozada, Dr. Sujin B.E. Huggins, and Patricia Miranda Check out their Pinterest page for more information on the books.   BAYOU MAGIC, by Jewell Parker Rhodes, 239 pages, published by Little Brown and Company, ©2015 (Upper elementary school/Middle school, fiction) BLACKBIRD FLY, …